How Do You Start Over Again?

“It’s painful and it’s messy. But sometimes you just have to make the break and start again.” Tony Parsons

I feel like lately I’ve been spending a great deal of time trying to answer this question.  Maybe not actually sitting around thinking about it and pondering, but every day, as I struggle with the various things we all face (how am I going to be a good Mom, get all of my work done, find time for myself to train for a triathlon, keep a clean house, make sure the laundry and the dishes are done … oh and put homemade food on the table… those kind of struggles) I try and think to myself that today is a new day.  A new chance to start over. If what I’m doing itsn’t getting the job done in a way that I can live with it, then I try and embrace the new day, the new beginning to experiment with a new way of doing things that might lead to a more productive end result.

 You can always start over with a new bike … hehe … n+1

For 2016, there are two triathletes in our house that are training for a full distance triathlon.  Let’s look a little bit at what this kind of starting over looks like for us this year.

Starting over… training for 140.6 miles is no joke.  It becomes one of your jobs on your list of things to do each day.  Training can’t be skipped or avoided, but needs to be a priority that is accounted for when planning the days.  If it’s not a priority it won’t happen.

 Plans, plans and more plans!

Staring over… we are following two different training plans.  Coordination!  Coordination between us is going to be the key to making this works.  We both need to be on the same page in making sure that we allot time to get the workouts in while also alloting time to get kids ready for school, do homework, cook dinner, read bed time stories, go on grand adventures and so much more.

Starting over… after a year off long course training and a rather unproductive off-season, just finding the motivation to make sure I get the workouts in can be my challenge for the day sometimes.  But I’ve been solidly on a base building plan since February 1 and I think short of the day that I cut a swim short and rescheduled a tempo run, I’m on target in making sure I get the training done.

  And the best part about starting over…

Starting over… this year I’m racing with #TeamRev3 as part of their age group team.  I am telling you now that this is one of the greatest opportunities that I have before me.  I have already met some really fantastic people at their Team Summit event in January.  I’ve made wonderful connections and am working my darndest to hit the ground running with ideas and work to help this fantastic company maintain and increase their customer base.  I truly believe in all that Rev3 stands for and all that they put into and behind their races.


So, 2016 involves a lot of starting over, but as I sat thinking about all that lies ahead of me in the coming year, I am trying to look upon it in this same fashion, as a new beginning.  2016 is a new day, a new chance to do something different; to try a new way and to ultimately seek a different result.  Things are different in life this year, but I’m looking at all of these new & different things as opportunities rather than challenges.

Because the things that challenge you are indeed opportunities to push harder, to look from another angle and to hopefully improve as you move forward.

This entry was posted in 140.6, 2016, Rev3, Starting Over, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How Do You Start Over Again?

  1. Teresa says:

    Love it lady!! 👊🏼💪🏼👊🏼

  2. jessie says:

    Sounds like you have your ducks in a row for the year ahead of you. I’m sure you are going to have a fantastic year!
    And by the way, I’m envious of how organized your fridge is, haha!

Leave a comment