Week 3 {Tinman Training}

WAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I made it and I’m still alive.  I finished week three and I’m here to tell about it.  Ok, ok, so this is a little dramatic, but I was NERVOUS.  Many of you are reading this and thinking… It’s week 3, what is the big deal.

magic

Let me back up.  During the off-season I fell back to my roots a bit.  I basically hung my goggles up and racked my bike and stuck mostly to running for the winter.  I personally find it to be quite an accomplishment, especially when you consider the ridiculous winter that we had… I mean are still having here in Upstate NY.  So any way, I ran.  Not a remarkable distance but enough so that when my coach was laying out the beginning of my training plan we were able to start with long runs at 10 miles.  (According to the coach… He was “given a gift!” haha!)  What does all of this mean?  All of this means that my long runs and long rides for my HALF Ironman training are already pretty long.  So each week I’m a little nervous when I look at those particular workouts, hence the major celebration about completing this week.

photo (1)

You can tell training is back in full swing just by the dishes!

Ok week 3 reports are as follows: 

The Good:

  • I swam A.LOT! Yep.  A lot.  Honestly, I’m getting in all of my swim workouts and this continues to be a huge deal for me.  Swim has always been the first thing that I skip and/or shorten.  Knowing that my coach is going to be looking for the actual data from my Garmin keeps me swimming whether I always like it or not.  I’m also pretty sure that all of this swimming is making some improvements for me.
  • I ran strong.  I’ve been a bit hesitant about these long runs that I’m given. They’re written as a one mile warm up followed by intervals and a one mile cool down.  I have never done this on a long run.  Long runs have always been LSD, long slow distance runs.  So they make me a little nervous because I’m afraid I’ll peter out before the end.  But I’ve been quite enjoying them.  Using the interval format makes the workout go faster mentally as I’m only focusing on that 3 or 5 minute interval and not how many miles I have left to go.
  • I think I’m figuring out some of my bike saddle issues.  As many of you know… spending a lot of time on your bike trainer is not something to be taken lightly.  I’m working on my comfort.  One ride at a time.
  • My training peaks account is all green with completed workouts!
  • And I got to  virtually meet my Swim Bike Mom Ambassador Teammates via some funny facebook videos we made this weekend.  It was so much fun.  These ladies are incredibly inspiring.

10945582_10206231790140240_2972459088935253745_n

The Not So Great:

  • I’m in the midst of battling a really annoying rash.  I attribute this to all of the swimming.  I have never had a skin issue in my life ever before.  I’m hoping it will get sorted out soon.  In the meantime, I’m swimming at a different pool this week and arming myself with Vaseline prior to getting in the water.  (Anyone else have this happen?  Suggestions?)
  • This weather.  Upstate NY has not gotten the memo about spring.  It’s making it difficult to get outside for training.  So far this hasn’t been a huge issue and I’m managing to rearrange my schedule for outdoor long runs etc, but come on weather, just shape up so we can get outside full-time ok? OK!

And yeah I think that’s it.

I can say that I’m standing here on day one of recovery week feeling pretty darn good.  I feel confident in my training.  I am really enjoying my new coaching relationship as I’m being pushed a bit more than I’m used to and thus far my body is rising to the challenge.  And I am feeling great because my training is a bit less intense this week… ala recovery week.  Trust me, I enjoy the high weeks where it’s all go go go, but taking a minute for the recovery and having a chance to look around is going to be great.

Week 3 Totals:

Swimming: 5700 yrds

Biking: 77.8 miles

Running: 19 miles

This entry was posted in #sbmat2015, Bike, Coach, Running, Swimming, Tinman70.3, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 3 {Tinman Training}

  1. Jaclyn says:

    For the pool, I use SBRSPORTS shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Only thing that takes all of the chlorine off and keeps my skin from reacting to the pool. Hope this helps and keep up the good work!

  2. Pingback: Week 4 {Tinman Training} | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

