{Two Things Tuesday} Peak Week

1) The Athlete Guide for Ironman Lake Placid 2014 is OUT. For those of you who do not know what this means, let me tell you.  This indicates that the event is right around the corner.  I’m not going to lie, it makes me want to puke a little.  I mean, I’m excited right, but so so so nervous so yeah… puke.

IMG_3648

Seemed like a good idea a year ago…

2) It’s peak week.  Following the theme that the race is right around the corner, I’m also able to say that this week is peak week in training.  So, this week involves a schedule that looks something like this:

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – 2 hour bike, 1 mile run

Wednesday – 7 mile run with pick ups

Thursday – Swim 1.2

Friday – Swim 2.4 miles in Mirror Lake

Saturday – Bike 112 miles, 4 mile run on the course

Sunday – 20 mile run on the course

So, yeah, that will be a solid 17 ish hours of my life this week.  And yep, I’ll be putting in all of the big stuff this weekend (please note that it’s just short of doing a full Ironman) in Lake Placid.  Sadly, this will probably be my last trip until it’s time to head up for the real deal.  I can guarantee that it will be a suffer fest but I am hoping to make it all count.

What’s right around the corner for you?  Do events ever sneak up on you like this when you’re not really paying attention?! I’m amazed at how it always happens for me.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ironman, Ironman Lake Placid, Peak Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to {Two Things Tuesday} Peak Week

  1. That sounds like a full weekend of training! The weather is shaping up to be perfect for being outdoors for so many miles. Enjoy the views, it will be worth it at the finish line in July :-).

Leave a Reply

