{2013} The Goals in Review

With only a few days left until the end of the year, I sat down at the computer for a minute to pull up my goals for 2013 and see how I did.  So, let’s take a minute to look back and review…

Goals –

1) Be me.  Be me, be me, be me and stick to it.  I am happy when I am me.  I do things that I’m proud of, I enjoy myself and quite frankly, I’m just “good to be.” I oftentimes get caught up in the needs of others, the wants of others and a laundry list of other things.  For 2013, I’d like to just be me.  I’ll let other people worry about them and hopefully we’ll meet in the middle somewhere.  Thus far I’m off to a pretty good start.  I feel like I pretty much nailed this one.  I did what I needed to do for me.  I made a few life changes and have learned how to focus on the here and now.  I’m far from perfect, but I’m me and I’m not really into apologizing for it.  

DSCF2557

2) Find a Balance – I have been working diligently on this for the last several months.  I think that I’m getting there.  There’s a nice balance that exists between training and being me.  Being a happy, fulfilled person who is fun to be around, intelligent oh and also a great Mom. 😉   (Just as the boss!)  I’m planning better, segmenting better, building workouts in where I can instead of hodge podge all over the place.  I will live a well-balanced life in 2013.  This will be challenging with an Ironman race on the horizon, but I will achieve it, with a little help from my friends. Also something that I feel like I did pretty well.  I managed to train for a variety of races while having a life and being a good Mom.  This may have involved a lot of 5:00 AM workouts, but it got the job done.  So sleep deprived as I was we never missed a kiddo date and had many an adventure.  

IMG_4486

3) Log My Workouts & Train Properly – I fell off of this entirely in 2012.  I didn’t log what it was that I was doing, so I have no real data to show whether or not I made any improvements.  I also didn’t stick to any of my plans properly.  Because of these two factors, I feel like I let myself down come race day.  I had big goals, but I never invested myself in reaching them.   I did a bit for Tinman training.  I put in some solid work there, but never quite what I needed to and it was easy to slough off.  So, not so much this time.  This time, I will find the time, which leads to my next goal.  Ok, well I’m still not into logging my workouts. With a coach for the 2014 triathlon season, I’m not going to have a choice.  But for 2013 I have no clue what kind of mileage I covered.  Whoops.  I did a better job of following my training plan although there was plenty of alterations to it.  So this one still needs some work.  

photo (1)

4) Re-Find My Early Morning Training – I’m the queen of the snooze button.  I will get thee to bed and out of it at an earlier hour.  It makes life so much easier when a good portion of your training is done in the early hours when everyone else is sleeping.  It leaves after work hours for the balance that I referenced above. I used to be good at this.  Time to refind that girl!  I did this all through Ironman training and for about a month and a half after it.  I have since refound my snooze button, but I’m hoping that this is ok for a few more weeks before Ironman training re-enters my life.  It is the off-season after all…

5) Run on trails – I just really found the trails in the fall/winter.  I have run on a few on and off for longer than that, but I really learned to love them only recently.  It’s time to utilize them for all that they offer.  (Right now they offer cross training!) In generally, I just find trail running more enjoyable.  The provide new ever-changing scenery.  And it’s hard! Which means that I’m a stronger road runner.   I see a win all around here.  I did a little more trail running, but still not enough.  Gotta keep at it for 2014. 

935751_10201338004958669_691371018_n

6) Complete Ironman Lake Tahoe –  An Ironman distance race is no joke.  140.6 miles of hard work, sweat and pain.  Let’s be real, pain.  I plan to train as well as I can so that I can enjoy the day.  Every Ironman athlete that I’ve talked to has said that race day is the fun day.  It’s the day where you get to enjoy all of the hard work that you’ve done and just be in the moment.  So to keep my moment enjoyable (as enjoyable as it can be), I am going to train to the best of my ability and try to keep my head in the game so I can finish IMLT at the finish line.  Not everyone makes it.  I’d like to.  Fail.  I’m not going to relive it all here, but in fairness IM did just change their marketing for the 2014 rendition of this race calling it the world’s hardest Ironman.  I’m putting it behind me and moving on.  

20130926-095206.jpg

7) Keep working on my nutrition.  I’m working on it.  It’s better and I definitely see and feel a difference when I stick with it.  In 2013, I’m sticking with it.  Healthy, clean eating.  I’ve gone back and forth with this.  I have a renewed vigor and a plan to guide me in the right direction.  We’ll see what comes of it.  

8) A Two Hour Half Marathon & A New 5K PR – I’m not expounding on these goals.  They were on last year’s list.  I never had the follow through to get there.  I’ve been working.  These goals will happen this year.  Enough said.  Sadly, these are both a fail.  I didn’t run a 5k and I didn’t work on the two-hour goal.  Boooo. 

9) Open Mind & Open Heart – Keeping it all open this year.  Trying new things, accepting things as they come into my life.  In the past month I have been outside more than inside in my free time.  Not to say I haven’t done this before, but I’m really trying to embrace all that life has to offer rather than focusing on the things that I can’t fix, control or at least have a say in.  Open mind and open heart.  I’ve got this.  Being open…. 

IMG_4178

10) Relax. Period.  Find a way.  Smile with my kiddo.  Read the paper.  Drink a cup of coffee.  Just Relax.  Nailed this, but I’ll continue to work on it.  

It would appear that I’ve got some work to do for 2014.  But I’m ready.  I’ll be back with some more review of 2013 and with a new lens  to look forward as well.

This entry was posted in Goals, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to {2013} The Goals in Review

  1. Dan Shyne says:

    Sarah, what a great idea! Follow your own progress year in, and year out, awesome! Congrats on your successes and failures. As I’ve heard (thousands of times) you learn more from your failures than your successes. AS you prepare for this year’s challenges, I wish you the best in achieving and enjoying, (the later being the most important part)! Come join us at Thatcher for the trail runs, they are a blast!

Leave a Reply

