{2014 Planning} It’s Starting

Well, the 2013 racing season is over.  For triathlons any way.  And if you can believe it’, it’s time to start planning for 2014.  I have been kicking several different race ideas around in my head for the last few months.  Or at least since I lost my mind and did this.  So to start formally thinking through the planning of 2014, I met up at a local restaurant with about 12 of my closest triathlon friends last night to brainstorm out loud.  This was just the handful of people who could make it and did I mention that like 8 of those people are doing a full distance Ironman next year.  As an aside, I clearly hang out with crazy people.  Good thing I love them!

stuff 001

Making a List!

I’ve got many different thoughts running through my mind as I start to thinking about registering for next year.  Here are some of them in no particular order:

  • I need a practice race or two before Ironman.  I will not let that be my first tri of the season.
  • I want to run a lot over the winter/spring so as to keep my cardio fitness and speed.
  • I’d love to squeeze in a spring marathon…. That was my plan last year though and it never happened.  Can I plan better this year?
  • Should I pick a half Ironman where I will have lots of friends racing or should I pick the more challenging one as it will provide a better training opportunity before Ironman Lake Placid.
  • I’ve still never done an Ironman branded 70.3.  Do I care?
  • I’d like to keep travel to a minimum and expenses down.  There will be enough travel to and from Lake Placid to train on the course.
  • I want to be faster, stronger and tougher than before.
  • Also, I would like to have a little bit of fun.  Yes please.  Otherwise, why bother.
  • I wonder if I should consider one of the Lake Placid endurance camps.
  • Will I be able to find/build the right plan that allows me enough time to train and time with family?

stuff 002

And checking it twice….

I’m really starting to try to answer all of these questions and plot a plan.  Meeting with all of those crazy triathletes really lit a fire for me to get moving.  So now I’m making lists of races.  I add one and then I subtract one.  Yes because of blah blah blah, followed up by no because well, there’s that thing.  My current goal is to land on some answers by the end of November if possible.  I want to avoid being closed out of anything and I would like to get in on the best possible pricing available.  When I get to finalized plan, I’m sure you’ll be some of the first to know.

Now… do tell… what criteria do you use when identifying your race schedule for the year?  Do you plan out the year or pick and choose as you go?  Tell me people: What am I missing?

28772_10153108339505381_215452725_n

Crazed Triathletes … Coming to a Town Near You!

This entry was posted in Peeps, Race Calendar, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {2014 Planning} It’s Starting

  1. Hi, I’m starting to plan also. I’m looking at the Bay of Fundy Marathon in Lubec Maine in June. It crosses over into New Brunswick and loops back. I think it is the eastern most marathon in the US.
    I have a widget on my blog where I list several great web sites to find races all over the US & Canada.
    Planning for next year is always exciting. My marathon of the year is next week, so I’m still focused on that.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

