{Two Things Tuesday} I’m not ready

It’s two things Tuesday and I’m just not ready…

1) I found out after I signed up for Ironman Lake Tahoe that I might have bitten off more than I could chew. But I trained anyway. With almost 8k feet of climbing and altitude, it was just more than I could handle. I didn’t make the bike cut off. I’m still really disappointed in myself. It hurts so bad to work so hard and have nothing to show for it but your head hung in failure. That is all.

2) I’m enjoying the rest of my time in Tahoe, through Thursday with two of my favorite people. I won’t let Ironman matter. Or I’m trying any way….

20130924-191032.jpg

It remains one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. Once a little more time passes, I may write a half race report. Not now though… I’m just not ready.

This entry was posted in Two Things Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to {Two Things Tuesday} I’m not ready

  1. Evalin says:

    I have been following your journey for a few months now and waited for a race report for this race. My heart aches for you.

    I was heart broken about my first race (as well) as it didn’t pan out the way I had planned either. Wanted to let you know that you will be ok.

    From what I have read (from friends who also raced), the conditions were not great too. For now, rest, recover and then reassess.

  2. A frend of mine had a nephew in that race. He said it was so cold on race day that he had ice on his bike that morning. But, I guess the watr was nice.
    Don’t dwell on this too long. There are lots of other races to go for and your fitness level is all ready geared up for the next one.

  3. Christine says:

    Your training alone makes you completely bad-ass. What an accomplishment– to have put in so many hours and mileage to get yourself in such fantastic condition. Consider Tahoe another day of training and know that you are so tough and awesome for getting as far as you did.

  4. Pingback: {Two Things Tuesday} Fall Means Setting New Goals | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

