{Today} Is 100

Today is Thursday.

Today is another rainy day…. Truthfully, today, I’m thinking of building an ark.

Today is a swim-run brick.  It is a 2,000 yard open water swim (hahahaha) and a five-mile run.

Today is another day in the journey.

Today is a day to be grateful for all that I have.

Today is a day to be thankful that I’ve come this far.

Today is 100 days until Ironman Lake Tahoe… Yes, 100 days.

photo(9)

But in all seriousness, with just 100 days left, I truly need to take pause and take stock of where I am and where I’ve been.  And I need to take a quick moment to say thank you.

I started running just over three years ago.  I was hard pressed to make it down the block let alone around the neighborhood.  But each step that I took was an opportunity for me to discover who I really am.  Each step was an opportunity for me to learn that I am much tougher than I ever dreamed possible.  In order to keep my momentum growing I joined a few local running groups and the momentum grew as did my friend list.  Fast forward over the last three years and I have completed 5k’s, 10k’s, half marathons, relays, marathons, sprint & olympic distance triathlons and a 70.3.  And today, I am training for a full Ironman … 140.6 miles.

I would be remiss to think that I would be where I am today with out all of these friends.  They make up this amazing support system that I have.  Truth be told if this little family of people didn’t believe in me the way that they do, I can guarantee that I wouldn’t believe in me.  There is a lot of power in family … wherever you find it.  And I count myself in the fortunate few who have found it.  So a great big huge thank you is due to all of you who stand by me, even when I’m sure that I don’t deserve it.  You all mean more to me that you’ll probably ever know.  And while I’m very thankful… I’m also excited.  There are exactly 100 more days on this little Ironman journey and I’m so happy to be able to share it with you.  So, with 100 days to go, let’s do this!

photo(10)

This entry was posted in Ironman, Ironman Tahoe, Peeps, Thank You. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

