{First} Outdoor Brick of the Season

Yesterday was spectacular…  After work, I met up with three friends at the Crystal Lake Bike Course in Averill Park.  We all prepped our bikes as some of them haven’t been ridden in a few years (again, so awesome of you to ride with us Will).  We took a lap of the course for a full 18 miles.  Fortunately, nothing eventful happened.  We jockeyed back and forth in positions, chit chatted and made jokes.  The weather was absolutely spectacular.  The sun was shining and we were in one of my favorite places.

327104_2137721295457_1618865883_2091639_3841_o

Crystal Lake Finish Circa 2011

I am also incredibly happy to report that I am very comfortable on Foxy.  The transition to the tri bike has been relatively seamless for me.  My biggest dilemma most days is whether or not I remembered to rubber band and velcro my aero bottle on.  Thus far she rides like a dream, most of the time and I couldn’t be happier.  I’m definitely a better biker.  Not sure whom I owe that credit to, me and my time in the saddle or the bike.  She’s officially ready for her “I’m not a new bike anymore” tune up at Blue Sky Bicycles and I think I might get her some new green tape to show off her Foxy…

IMG_2293

She’s going to look super sweet with green tape…

We put our bikes away and then Jess and I proceeded to run a loop of the course.  My first official outdoor brick of the season.  I truly expected it to be no fun.  Jelly legs, wha, wha, wha.  We took off and it was just fine.  In fact, had I not had somewhere else to be later on I would have stayed for a second loop.  I like the Crystal run course, even though it is short of three miles.  Again, uneventful run, but the sun was shining, our pace was decent for my first brick out and the conversation was good.

Squeeeeeeeeeeeee, I was so happy post brick.  I needed that.  Way better than therapy and I can not wait to do it again! And I kept remembering the first time that I rode and ran that course.  I hated it.  It was hard and I was truly not sure what the heck I had gotten myself into.  What a difference two years makes, eh?

This entry was posted in Bike, Brick, Crystal Lake, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

