Right {On} Time

The weather is finally coming around here in the Capital District.  I was able to ride in short sleeves and shorts on my bike in the sunshine last night before a “girls night” dinner.  I could tell you all about the ride, or the jokes we made along the way, but I’d rather focus on something that went off in my head after I left the restaurant and my girl friends last night.

photo(1)

Boom. You are exactly where you are supposed to be… in this moment.

I have had a rough couple of years.  I have learned a good deal in that time about who I am and who I aspire to be.  I think after 33 years, I am finally in the now and I am finally aware of who I am and what makes me.

I attribute that so much to the people who I surround myself with.  My pseudo family away from home, as I like to call them.  Some of them, ok a lot of them, are triathletes and/or “endurance types.”  Some are not.  But they are all amazingly selfless people who continually encourage me and many others to seek out what it is that you want in life, what makes you … well, you and go after it.  They are the kind of people who will set their alarm clocks for 5:00 AM to train with you even if they don’t really need to themselves.  They are the kind of people who will put your bike together and fill the tires while you run and change.  They are the type of people who will juggle workouts and swap kid time in order to help you meet your own goals.  They are the kind of people who will give you the shirt off from their back if you need it.  (I am amazed at all of the positive things that filled my FB feed after the Boston attacks, you all are rock stars.) Being where I am, right now, is where I’m supposed to be.

They are also the kind of people who showed me that we didn’t have to be like anyone else but that instead we were each individually free to be whomever we are and we would be accepted in this community regardless.  I had to chuckle to myself as my biking partner and I threw on clothes (over our biking clothes of course) in the parking lot of the restaurant.  This is not something that happens at a typical girls night out.  We proceeded to dinner, sweat stained and happy from riding in the beautiful weather.  And that’s what started it.

IMG_3356Getting changed, fueled and loaded pre-ride

Something as simple as getting dressed in the parking lot got me to thinking about where my life has been and where it is now.  I am completely comfortable with where I am, who I am and I am excited to be in this new chapter of my life.  The chapter where I am here, I am me and that’s ok.   It’s also interesting to sit back and be aware of the change that has happened from time to time.  I causes you to pause and take stock and reassess life and the importance of various compartments.

So, who cares if we’re changing in a parking lot, screaming to a song at the top of our lungs in traffic on the way into a marathon or being those people walking around the convenience store in our bike shoes.  I surely don’t.  I am me.  And I am right on time.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=ab5a0e3a0e&view=att&th=13e1e276a6b27508&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=e1c650b3079a1792_0.1&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P-ZeKbrHoxlnTvJg0mxHSoH&sadet=1366305540825&sads=INmDl3tOXNBb6dIKV5JU8KW4z2I

Being Silly @ Doctors Office with Little Boy Blue

This entry was posted in About Me, Family, Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

