Going {Up?} Or Embracing the Fear

This seems relevant today.  I found this picture that I took over the summer.  It was C-man’s first ferris wheel ride.  I came upon it yesterday and I was struck by the beauty, but also the metaphor for life that’s happening here.

photo(2)~Linda Poindexter

This also applies to my life as a triathlete.  In the past twenty-four hours I have had two challenging workouts.  Last night was my weekly power training session on the bike at Elevate Cycles last night.  It was tough.  I clearly have not been spending much time in the saddle.  And then my valentine’s day morning started with a sweaty workout with one of my tri gals at the YMCA.  We chose body sculpt at 6 AM.  With only about 6 hours of sleep under my head I was groggy.

I can tell you right now that during both of these workouts I was at the bottom of my ferris wheel.  I found myself inside my head and guess what I was doing there…. I was giving up.

Last night it went like this:

WTF?  Why am I doing this.  This hurts, I could be sleeping, eating, drinking, watching tv and the list goes on.

Keep pedaling.

I don’t want to.

You need to pedal 112 miles before you run a marathon.  Deal.

Holy s*@!, what…. I am struggling at an hour and a half and I’m going to put in a solid 7ish hours….. The better part of work day on this sucker before I know it.

Keep pedaling.

Ok.

This morning the story was a little different, but again, some inner self talk was needed to get through the rounds of push ups, etc when I would have rather been sleeping.  Right right, push up.  Got it.  Right.

I forgot how much coming out of the off-season hurts.  Not only am I physically not there, but mentally my brain is just not ready to “embrace the suck.” I’m not sure who coined that, but it’s exactly what I need to remember how to do.  Because as I reminded myself this morning, no one gets stronger by skipping the work outs.

So in triathlon, I need to remember to get past my fear of the tough work outs.  Getting through the tough work outs will make the outcome so much better, stronger, and easier.  I have to get past the fear, to enjoy the view.  So, I’ll embrace the suck and this will get easier…..

This entry was posted in Embrace the Suck. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

