Sunday {pr}

And a good run was had… at least by me. This morning I had planned to meet some running peeps at SUNY Albany for one of the winter series runs that are put on by the Hudson Mohawk Road Runners Club.  (If you are local, like running in the winter, and can handle the boredom and wind that are the state office campus, you should join the club. The series is free. It’s great to see all of the runners. And there is always good food at the finish line.)

There are usually three options offered. Today was 3.5 miles, 10k, and 25k. I chose the 10k. MY plan really was to just log some miles. No need to run fast or anything of that nature. I made that very clear to the nasty fast Ironwoman who wanted to run with me. She doesn’t know, but I brought headphones for when she got bored of me and left. Anyway, I got to the start with just about five minutes to go to start….whoops, forgot about the construction and how long it might take me to park. Cutie smiling faces lined up at the start with me though so it was ok.

image

The first half a mile or so was slow and a little crowded as we started out on the course. Before long though things spread right out and we were off.  Around mile two I realized that we were running a sub 9:00 pace. While not blistering fast, it’s pretty fast for me. MY first instinct as always was to slow down. Iron lady also said, whoops we are going faster than you want, we can slow down. I replied with its ok. Let’s just see how we feel. The next two miles slowed slightly but not a ton.

Around mile five I revealed that if we kept it up, today would be a new 10k pr. I hadn’t said anything sooner for fear that she would push me or I would fall apart too early. Her response was something along the lines of …. really? Cuz we aren’t even really trying. Yeah funny how that happens huh.

At the end of the race I pulled a bit more out of my shoes to get past some annoying people who had passed us. I’m sorry but I’m tired of being beat. So I dropped them. I finished with over.  Two minute pr. Maybe 2013 will be a year of great gains. I sure hope so. What about you?

This entry was posted in 10K, PR, Race, Running, Running Peeps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday {pr}

  1. Jen says:

    I just came across your blog thru Ali on the Run’s post–nice to see another local running blogger! I’ve been running the WS races too-I missed this one though! Maybe i’ll see you at the next one!

Leave a Reply

