{2013} The Year In Goals

I’ve put off writing down my goals for 2013.  I listed them out in the car in a rough draft form on the spot, with very little coffee in my system.  However, I haven’t written them out yet.  Mostly because I avoid writing things down because then I really have to hold myself to it! (Some of you know, it’s like choosing a favorite for me…. I don’t like that either.  Favorite movie, favorite color, etc.  What if the others want a chance down the road?)

Truthfully though, when I pause to think about it, I know without thinking all that hard or long, what my goals are for 2013.  So, I guess it’s time to put it here so I have to follow through!

1) Be me.  Be me, be me, be me and stick to it.  I am happy when I am me.  I do things that I’m proud of, I enjoy myself and quite frankly, I’m just “good to be.” I oftentimes get caught up in the needs of others, the wants of others and a laundry list of other things.  For 2013, I’d like to just be me.  I’ll let other people worry about them and hopefully we’ll meet in the middle somewhere.  Thus far I’m off to a pretty good start.

IMG_1803Being me in the snow! Fun!

2) Find a Balance – I have been working diligently on this for the last several months.  I think that I’m getting there.  There’s a nice balance that exists between training and being me.  Being a happy, fulfilled person who is fun to be around, intelligent oh and also a great Mom. 😉   (Just as the boss!)  I’m planning better, segmenting better, building workouts in where I can instead of hodge podge all over the place.  I will live a well-balanced life in 2013.  This will be challenging with an Ironman race on the horizon, but I will achieve it, with a little help from my friends.

523513_10151204439147952_1149589252_nPeeps!

3) Log My Workouts & Train Properly – I fell off of this entirely in 2012.  I didn’t log what it was that I was doing, so I have no real data to show whether or not I made any improvements.  I also didn’t stick to any of my plans properly.  Because of these two factors, I feel like I let myself down come race day.  I had big goals, but I never invested myself in reaching them.   I did a bit for Tinman training.  I put in some solid work there, but never quite what I needed to and it was easy to slough off.  So, not so much this time.  This time, I will find the time, which leads to my next goal.

4) Re-Find My Early Morning Training – I’m the queen of the snooze button.  I will get thee to bed and out of it at an earlier hour.  It makes life so much easier when a good portion of your training is done in the early hours when everyone else is sleeping.  It leaves after work hours for the balance that I referenced above. I used to be good at this.  Time to refind that girl!

20121201-113055.jpgTrail Running with My Pup

5) Run on trails – I just really found the trails in the fall/winter.  I have run on a few on and off for longer than that, but I really learned to love them only recently.  It’s time to utilize them for all that they offer.  (Right now they offer cross training!) In generally, I just find trail running more enjoyable.  The provide new ever-changing scenery.  And it’s hard! Which means that I’m a stronger road runner.   I see a win all around here.

IMG_1772How I’m Currently Finding Trails

6) Complete Ironman Lake Tahoe –  An Ironman distance race is no joke.  140.6 miles of hard work, sweat and pain.  Let’s be real, pain.  I plan to train as well as I can so that I can enjoy the day.  Every Ironman athlete that I’ve talked to has said that race day is the fun day.  It’s the day where you get to enjoy all of the hard work that you’ve done and just be in the moment.  So to keep my moment enjoyable (as enjoyable as it can be), I am going to train to the best of my ability and try to keep my head in the game so I can finish IMLT at the finish line.  Not everyone makes it.  I’d like to.

DSCF2458

7) Keep working on my nutrition.  I’m working on it.  It’s better and I definitely see and feel a difference when I stick with it.  In 2013, I’m sticking with it.  Healthy, clean eating.

8) A Two Hour Half Marathon & A New 5K PR – I’m not expounding on these goals.  They were on last year’s list.  I never had the follow through to get there.  I’ve been working.  These goals will happen this year.  Enough said.

9) Open Mind & Open Heart – Keeping it all open this year.  Trying new things, accepting things as they come into my life.  In the past month I have been outside more than inside in my free time.  Not to say I haven’t done this before, but I’m really trying to embrace all that life has to offer rather than focusing on the things that I can’t fix, control or at least have a say in.  Open mind and open heart.  I’ve got this.

77065_4326042266207_777958344_n

10) Relax. Period.  Find a way.  Smile with my kiddo.  Read the paper.  Drink a cup of coffee.  Just Relax.

IMG_1813

This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to {2013} The Year In Goals

  1. Pingback: {Two Things Tuesday} A Trail Relay & I’m Fa-Reezing! | Chasing Down a Dream

  2. Pingback: {2013} The Goals in Review | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

