Still Planning…

Establishing a plan for 2013 is taking me forever.  I’m not sure why, but this year I’m very hesitant to put it out there.  I’m not sure if it’s because I think I’ll have to take it back or what.  I also keep switching back and forth in what exactly it is that I want to do.

IMG_3523

I’m not certain that I ever really know where I’m heading…

Those of you who know me, know that in many ways I wish I had held off on pushing the registration button for Ironman Lake Tahoe (IMLT).  Not because I don’t want to do an Ironman, but because I really wish I had used my head and signed up for the local one in Lake Placid.  As it turns out, I really like Lake Placid. I can train there.  It’s not at some ridiculous elevation that I’m not used to and (most importantly) I really wish that my family would be able to come and spectate and support me.  As it stands now, it will be me and other athletes in Tahoe.  Maybe I can convince someone who in addition to completing 140.6 miles that they would be willing to be my race sherpa.  Ha, ha!  Hint, hint family…. I would love to see you along the course of anything that I plan for 2013.  It doesn’t just have to be in Tahoe (although that would be spectacular too!).  And actually, I think I’m blaming IMLT for my hesitancy in signing up for anything else.  I think my “trigger finger” there has scared me straight for the rest of 2013’s race planning.

bike

But, I’ve started to try to really get a training plan together so I can have solid feet (and swim and bike) underneath me when I get there, and this has me starting to think forward and put together something of a race plan.  Believe it or not, thus far I haven’t really planned the running races (although I do have someone pushing to get me to sign up for a 50 miler… and I thought a 50k was nuts).  I’ve spent some time thinking about triathlons and some time thinking about biking.  Biking is where I see the most room for improvement, so I’ve just got to learn to love the suck.

20120701-203820.jpg

So thus far I think I’ve identified a June 70.3 to gauge where I’m at.  I have a June century ride (please help me now). And I do believe that I’ve identified a tough 75 mile bike for August and another 70.3 running right into taper for the big day.  I’d like to say that is all I’ll do, but I know that I’ll pick up some running races here and there just because I love it.  But seriously, I think that’s a decent backbone for the training for Tahoe.  Of course there will be crap loads of training on top of those races.  And yes, crap loads is an official term.  I’m still on the fence about the 50.  And I’m sure I’m going to put a spring/early summer marathon in there, but other than that I think I’m just going to train, not race so much and enjoy life a little bit.  And I think that reading this all back sounds that sounds like an oxymoron, but I registered for a lot in 2012.  I’m going to try to do that a little less and focus more on enjoying just being outside.  Some of my best bikes & runs leading up to Tinman were relatively little planning and just getting outside.  So, while I’m not fully ready to share or commit via registration, I think that I’m getting there.  How about you?

This entry was posted in Century, Half Ironman, Marathon, Race Calendar, Registering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

