{Run}ning Out of Town

I’m currently attending an annual conference for the  NISE Network, so I’m coming to you live from my hotel room in Boston.  It’s not a bad gig when half of the conference that you’re attending is at the Museum of Science and the evening agenda includes attending cool things like the Nano Brothers Juggling act.  Truly, I don’t travel often for work, but when I do it’s almost always to another museum and it’s awesome.  Best job perk ever.  And I can say that I do get some legitimate work done while I’m visiting museums because I can check out best practices, cool new exhibits and more.  Hopefully this conference will be just as awesome as those in the past.

IMG_0589

My other favorite thing is the fact that I get to see great cities and run in cool places.  My favorite still remains as the running that I’ve been privileged to do in San Francisco.  I’ve visited a couple of times, again via work.  Both times I’ve stayed in the Fisherman’s Wharf area so I’ve run the Embarcadero and the Golden Gate Bridge.  I’ve run along the Mississippi in Minnesota.  And a several other places.  I think it’s a great way to see the city through a different set of eyes.  Sort of like seeing the real city.  People going to work, heading out for the day and just going about their business.

BJog Map

Needless to say, I was pretty excited when I got to my hotel and found this little gem in my room.  I didn’t drive in until well after dark, but I was definitely on the Charles River and there was definitely a running path.  That was my first bit of excitement.  But then to know that it’s relatively easy to follow and marked out via distance.  I’m pumped.  I think this should be a great way to start my Tuesday. Much better than the 3 miles that I put in on the treadmill in the hotel tonight.  Unfortunately, that is where I headed since it was almost 8:30 at night and I just wasn’t sure how safe night running is here.  Better grossed out in the hotel gym than sorry.  So, I’m setting my alarm and planning to see some of Boston tomorrow.  How about you?  What’s your favorite part of traveling for work?  Have you been able to see cool places?  Were you running?

This entry was posted in Running, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {Run}ning Out of Town

  1. Mary says:

    I LOVE running while traveling for work or otherwise! Check out my blog, it’s all about running and travel – two of my favorite things to do. Not that I have run in Boston yet, but it was actually the topic of my blog post today: http://runningintransit.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

