{Two Things Tuesday} Trail Running & Swimming

One ~ On Saturday, I did a six-mile trail run in the snow. It was hard enough, yet absolutely beautiful. I enjoyed the challenge of being on the trail (read hills, tree roots, etc) yet having the opportunity to be out in it. While hundreds and thousands of people were starting their day reading the paper, watching Tv, eating breakfast, I was running with my dog through some newly fallen snow in the woods. We had the courtesy of encountering a hunter and a deer. Not at the same time. The landscape was great, the air was fresh, the day was good. I can’t wait to go again!

20121201-113055.jpg

Two ~ On Sunday, I went to my first swim clinic. I hate swimming. I guess maybe not so much swimming, but getting in the pool. I have to admit (please don’t tell anyone) that I enjoy swimming once I’m actually doing it. Today was two hours of drills and swimming with twenty other people from the capital district triathlon club. It was great. We did some very basic drills focusing on body positioning. After two thousand yards in the pool, I was sleepy.

cropped-296505_2349514543577_1421502174_2672223_2749958_n.jpg

Overall, I am becoming happy-ish with my winter training. I am working on the things that I wanted to do in the off-season. I am working on speed and technique. But I’m also getting a chance to enjoy it. I’ve joined group runs with people I don’t know and started conversations for fun. I’ve enjoyed the outdoors. I’ve taken a moment to breathe and be and I’m going to get there.  I will.  And I’m keeping this thought from another blog post I read today in the front of my mind:

Build the courage to face your fears. – Everything you want is on the other side of fear.  Don’t ever hesitate to give yourself a chance to be everything you are capable of being.  It’s better to cross the line and suffer the consequences of a lesson learned, than to just stare at that line for the rest of your life and always wonder.  And remember, courage doesn’t mean you don’t get afraid; courage means you don’t let your fear stop you.”

Please check out this blog.  Mark & Angel Hack Life always have great points to ponder.  I think that 2013 may be my triathlon year.  If I can just keep facing my fears and believing in myself.  What are your two things this Tuesday?

 

This entry was posted in Swimming, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {Two Things Tuesday} Trail Running & Swimming

  1. Pingback: {Two Things Tuesday} A Trail Relay & I’m Fa-Reezing! | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

