What’s Your Reason?

I wasn’t going to post today.  I didn’t feel like I had something to write about.  Then I checked my email and the new email said that Ironman Arizona 2013 sold out in 40 seconds.  Yes, you read that right 40 seconds.  Yowza….. I mean really people, we are plunking down cold hard cash to do these events.  And I say we because I’m included in the craziness.

Two Moms…. Doing it!

Not only are we paying big bucks just for the race registration, we’re committing serious time out of our lives to train for these events.  We are missing real life events for this.  When I sit back and think about it, it really makes me pause and scratch my head.  I wonder why.  Why are we so willing to push that register button on the computer and just throw caution to the wind.  I don’t have an easy answer to share here as I sit on the couch with my four-year old enjoying a quiet Monday night.  In fact, I question my sanity in a moment like this.  But at the same rate, I know that now or later, I will do this.

This face before a half…. I’ll be jumping off a cliff before the real deal!

I don’t have a good reason…. yet.  The best reason that I have right now is that I’m positive that the only limitations that we face in life are those that we put upon ourselves.  Maybe that’s what everyone was thinking when they registered in 40! seconds today.  I don’t know.  I think we all have our own reasons for toeing that start line and longing for that finish line.  What are your reasons for doing what you do?  This video always gives me ideas of why I do what I do.  How about you?

 

 

This entry was posted in Ironman. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

