Race Calendars & Balance

I’ve already talked a little about needing to sort out a race calendar for 2013.  I did it for 2012, and I did it for 2011.  As I look back at both of these posts I didn’t follow through with everything I had planned and I added some things that I hadn’t planned on.  I would say that in talking to others this is pretty normal.  So I’m trying to keep this in mind as I sit down and begin to think about what I’d like to accomplish in 2013.

But, after really taking a step back and looking at where I currently am, I am going to tell you that I’m going to be overly cautious in planning the 2013 calendar.  There are races already bouncing around in my head.  I won’t deny that.  However, I also know that I want to spend some time just being me and enjoying my life.  While running and triathlon bring me that, they also make me a slave to a training schedule.  I’m not saying that I won’t be for some of these races, but I am saying that I want to balance it.  And I’m not always good at finding the balance.

I am going to go out on a limb and guess that some of that balance can be achieved by rearranging my habits.  It’s simple things like getting out of bed in the morning before 7 AM to get the work out in before everyone else’s day has started.  I used to be the master of getting up at 4:30 AM.  I’m not sure where that person went but I plan to channel her.  It’s also things like doing a run on my lunch hour.  Ok, so I can’t fit it in after work because I have plans, then I do it on my lunch hour.  As tough as it is to get out the door at lunch, I almost always find that I feel better and am more focused at work in the afternoon if I do lace up my sneakers.  And it’s biting the bullet and squeezing in the long runs on the mornings where I don’t have C.  Yikes, it’s so tempting to sleep in until like 7:45 on those days.  Reference channeling the above mentioned girl.

There she is, bright-eyed, bushy-tailed and probably a faster runner than I am right now!

Anyway, as I begin to even wrap my brain around 2013, I know that if I can remember these things and also go a little easy on myself and not over load the calendar that I should be able to have fun and find balance that allows me to be fully “in” all aspects of my life.

How do you plan your calendar?  And are you able to find the right balance that works for you?

This entry was posted in Balance, Race Calendar, Running, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Race Calendars & Balance

  1. Pingback: Each Day & Stockade-athon 15k | Chasing Down a Dream

  2. Pingback: {Two Things Tuesday} A 15 & a 50? | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

