Fa-Reaking Out & The Forest…

As the title says, I’m freaking out.  I am t minus 3 days to my first half iron.  And I am quite sure that I’m under prepared.  But I can blog stand before you and admit that if I’m under prepared it is no one’s fault but my own. 

This is my public service announcement to all of you triathletes out there.  It is all about not skipping work outs.  Don’t do it.  If you do it, it will torment you.  Would those workouts have helped me cross the finish line looking stronger?  Would they have helped my confidence as I head into this monstrously long day?  I am plagued by self-doubt.  I am guilt ridden for letting myself down thus far.  It’s like there’s a neon sign in my head that keeps flashing… It says “What if I can’t do it?” 

So I try to turn on the logical part of my brain that says that I can do it.  I have a goals, I have b goals and I have just finish the damn race goals.  And regardless of which ones I hit, I should at the very least be able to accomplish the last one.  But good god I’m terrified.  I can honestly say that I haven’t been this afraid of anything in a long time. 

So I’m trying hard today to “see the forest for the trees.”  I’m trying to not focus on the details but instead look at the larger picture.  I’ve been training for months.  If I separate the day into its individual parts, I can do it.  Instead of concentrating on completing a half Ironman on Saturday, I will focus on completing a 1.2 mile swim, a 56 mile bike and a 13.1 mile run. 

Can you see the forest with me?  Someone please tell me it’s there…

This entry was posted in Half Ironman, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fa-Reaking Out & The Forest…

  1. Anonymous says:

    You are going to rock your race, Sarah! You are so prepared for this. You have trained so hard and are so ready. I was totally freaking out before my half, but once set in motion, just relaxed. Good luck, it’s not as bad as it seems, and you are so ready for it!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Its there! You are going to do great!!! I believe in you…as I am sure everyone who knows you does!! Kick some butt!!

  3. Pingback: My Best Self | Chasing Down a Dream

  4. Anonymous says:

    you forget about the power of adrenalin…yours and what leaks off of the other competitors! You so have this!

  5. Pingback: {Tinman} Race Report | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

