{Triathlete} Something Strange Happening

I love running.  I’ve been in love running since I ran my first half marathon in October of 2010.  It’s a known fact.  And I still love running.  It doesn’t always love me, but I love it.  Mostly. 

But, I’m here to tell you that something strange is happening.  All of this swimming, biking and running together is getting to me.  I am truly starting to enjoy all three parts of triathlon.  First – hush it to all of my training peeps who are currently grinning and saying “I told you so.”  And Second – I suppose it’s a good thing that I’m starting to enjoy them considering that I’m two weeks out from my first 70.3. 

Over the course of this week I’ve done a few open water swims where no panic has ensued.  In fact, I found myself thinking about my day, planning for work, making lists, and more while I was swimming.  Whoa, that’s like regular stuff.  Not freaking out.  Not panicking because I can’t see anything and there are probably big lake monsters or dead bodies floating below me.  Just regular easy, breezy swimming. 

There I am!

And then, I saw my bike picture from last weekends triathlon.  Now, please keep in mind that it was a sprint so the bike is pretty short, but I distinctly remember smiling at the camera.  And not smiling because I had to, but because I had enjoyed the ride. 

Cruising…

So there you have it.  Something strange is happening.  And I think that rather than just loving running, I now love triathlon.  Yep, I said it.  Deal.  I love this craziness.  It keeps me sane and keeps me going.  So, that’s my confession for the week.  What’s yours? 

 

This entry was posted in Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {Triathlete} Something Strange Happening

  1. I can’t wait until the day that I actually love the running part. Struggle!

Leave a Reply

