{Two Things Tuesday} Embracing the Treadmill & an OWS

Last night I embraced the treadmill.  Trust me, I didn’t want to.  But, with kiddo in tow, I had no choice but to hit up the gym for a run.  I went in with a plan to run four miles in order to get home and feed the monster and myself.

But once I started running I hatched a plan.  Since coming back from injury I really haven’t done much speed work.  I’ve just been happy with finishing runs pain-free.  The run on the treadmill tonight felt good.  So I decided to embrace it and use it to my advantage.  Why not use the treadmill to push the speed and make my own interval work out.  So after a one mile warm up, intervals I did.  And a planned four mile run turned into five because it just felt so good.  And I will say that breaking it up into .25 mile intervals made the time (aka boredom) fly by.

Proof of the power of the interval.  I was dripping sweat….

And I’m happy to announce that my first open water swim (ows) is in sight!!!! This weekend is a practice run of the Hudson Crossing triathlon.  I was all excited to go and hang out and swim, bike, run.  Wait, I said …. swim?  Um, has anyone dipped their toe in some local water?  That business is cold! Yeah I said C-O-L-D…. so we shall see how Saturday goes.  I’m a little nervous.  Yikes, cold water and an open water swim.  Man oh man, I’m in for it now.

C & I pre- OWS on Mother’s day.  Ok, ok, we only stuck our toes in, but it was cold!

What are you up to this Tuesday?

This entry was posted in OWS, Speed work, Training, Treadmill. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to {Two Things Tuesday} Embracing the Treadmill & an OWS

  1. Jessie says:

    I’ll be swimming Saturday! I’m looking forward to it, but I’m afraid it’s going to be so cold!

Leave a Reply

