{MmmHmm} And Turning it Around

My new favorite catch phrase… Mmmhmm.  I think it sort of sums up how I’ve been feeling about things, life, lately.  Just mmmhmm.  So to pull myself out of this I’m focusing on the good things that are ga-ga going on.  Want to do it with me?  Come on…

The combination of construction and owning a bike…. I don’t know about the rest of you, but are you surrounded by road construction projects?  It is physically almost impossible for me to get to work as of late.  There are construction projects as far as the eye can see and they are all at major intersections.  My commutes are coming to a screeching halt.  So, I’m going to try to make lemonade out of lemons with this and do some of my commutes via bike.  I can’t do it all the time for various reasons, but I can let Scarlet bring me to work some and ease the pain of the morning commute.

Ok, so she’s in transition, but she can be a commuter too!

Race Season… Is it here yet?  I think it’s almost here.  When I close my eyes and think about it, I can feel the energy of packet pick up, the excitement of the start line.  Is it time?  I am dying for some race adrenaline.  I’m going to have to just pick something and sign up for the fun of it.  There’s an outside chance that I’m doing a super cool 10 Mile Mountain Goat run with one of my running peeps for her birthday run. Or maybe a mini tri……  So I’ve got my fingers crossed! Come on race season.

Coffee … this will always make the list.  I just need you all to know that.

There are leaves on the trees … Ok, Ok, I know that we’ve had an unseasonably warm…everything, but I love it.  Yes, should it still be spring, yes, should it still be cold out. Yada yada yada.  Whatever, I love that it has been so nice out.  C and the dog and I have had plenty of time to play outside.  We’ve also been knee-deep in home renovation projects.  All of that is wrapping up and today when I pulled in the drive, I noticed how green everything was and then I also remembered why I bought this house.  Huge yard, lots of trees, and we are going to have an awesome summer here at the Lake.  So, I love that there are leaves already!

I stocked up … Yesterday afternoon when cleaning out my junk email box I found a coupon for a good discount at Road Runner Sports.  So, I did what anyone training for a Half Ironman does.  I stocked up.  I ordered GU, Honey Stingers and Nuun.  Now I can’t wait until all of the goodies arrive.  Getting those kinds of things in the mail makes me supppppppper happy.

Groceries … I know, this is not all that exciting to you, but I finally made it to the grocery store yesterday.  Because of this I was able to make a new batch of homemade granola bars. I’m going to have to share this recipe with you soon.  They are ridiculously easy and they are so stinking good.  Seriously, the ingredients are oats, rice krispies cereal, nuts, peanut butter, honey, vanilla, and anything else you’d like to add.  So easy! And so yummy! Wahoo for not paying $6 for granola bars from the grocery store.

Lastly, I’m thankful for some perspective … I trained with a little tri group the other night.  They’re all first timers.  In fact they have yet to complete their first tri.  They were so energetic and full of questions.  What struck me was how much I saw myself in each one of them.  I saw me one year ago.  All that nervous energy, the questions about how to clip in, how to shift gears, etc, etc.  It was awesome to hang out with them.  It was also awesome when I got in my car to drive home and started to think about them and me.  I was able to see myself very clearly in them and in doing so I was able to see how far I’ve come.  Sometimes when you don’t take a minute to step outside of yourself, it’s difficult to see the progress.  But on that night, with the group, I was able to see that I’ve come a long way in the last year.  I still have a long way to go, but it was nice to feel that accomplishments if only for a minute.  It was also nice to join in their excitement and nervousness about all thing tri.  So thanks little group, I needed that!

Now I’m off to turn my mmmhmmm around on a 3 hour bike ride followed by a 20 minute run.  I’m certain I’ll be thankful when that’s over! What are you up to this weekend?

This entry was posted in Bright Side, C-man, Thankful. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {MmmHmm} And Turning it Around

  1. Pingback: {Two Things Tuesday} Tri’ing and Running | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

