{The Journey} Just Believe in the Process

“Winning is great, but it’s more about the process than the result.  If you look at life like that, I think it helps a lot. ”  Laura Bennett

One of my training partners sent me this quote this morning, and it’s something that I’ve actually been thinking about quite a bit lately as I’ve begun my training for Tinman.  In fact, I thought about this yesterday while I was drowning swimming at the pool.  As I struggled in the pool, I thought about where I started with swimming.  My first plop into the water was at a private lesson.  There way no way I was swimming in front of any one of my friends without first receiving some instruction.  And I swam about 10 feet for the instructor and she said, “ok, well now you have to put your face in the water.  Can you do that?” So go from there to today.  Now I’m swimming 1900 yrds at a clip in the pool, as I undertake training for this monster of a race where I will need to swim 1.2 miles.   Obviously, that change didn’t happen overnight.  There have been a lot of steps along the way and it has most definitely been a journey.  From my first lesson, to my first open water swim, to getting my first wetsuit, to my first triathlon, and on and on.

But there is another part of this journey.  As I was swimming I got thinking.  It’s really not about getting me to be able to swim 1.2 miles.  Well, that’s important too …. but I was thinking about the journey that’s much bigger than that.  The journey that I’ve been on since I started all of this craziness way back with my first 5K.  That journey has taught me that I can do anything I put my mind to.

When I first started all of these endevours, I had no idea that it would lead me to where I am.  Even when I was running a lot when someone would ask me if I was training for a marathon, I would laugh and say no way.  No. way.  But I stuck with it.  I stuck with it and I kept going.  One foot in front of the other.  Not giving up.  So many times, I wanted to throw in the towel, but I couldn’t do that.  I couldn’t because I couldn’t be responsible for letting myself down.  I have learned to push through the pain, push through the self doubt and believe that anything is possible.

These days, thanks to this journey and all of the different things that I have learned along the way, I know that if I want to do something, I can.  It will take hard work, sacrifice and a lot of self discipline to get there, but I’ll get there. What my journey has taught me is that if you believe in yourself anything is possible.  No matter what don’t give up on you.  The lesson lies in recognizing that while race day is important, it’s more important that you savor the journey, the lessons learned along the way through countless hours spent training, sacrificing time with others and keeping yourself on task.  Those lessons, that dedication will teach you more about yourself and about life that you ever imagined possible.  So don’t worry about race day, enjoy the journey and enjoy the process.  That’s where the magic lies.

“Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’!” – Audrey Hepburn

This entry was posted in About Me, Believe, journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

