Around and Around We Go!

Week number one of HIM training is in the books.  I will be honest and say that I missed a work out. It is what it is and I suppose missing one is better than missing several.  My little guy is on vacation in Florida and I wanted to spend as much time as possible with him this last week since he’ll be gone for over a week.

Ice Skating with the Boys!

In order to do so, I missed a work out.  Not going to beat myself up about it.  The time with him was totally worth it.  And besides, he’s now in Florida so I have no excuses this week.  This week I need to be all in.  And that is the plan!

Anyway, the week consisted of three runs, three bikes (I skipped one) and two swims.  Overall everything went well.  This week looks much the same.  What I’m most proud of is that I’m bricking! (Two work outs back to back.  Typically a bike then a run.) Now for many triathletes this is no big deal.  But for me, this is a HUGE deal and a brand new gig.  I always joked that I only brick on race day.  And until this week it was absolutely true.  Oooops.  Well at least this season I’m doing it differently and actually practicing going from one work out to the next.  Yeah Me!

And as for the around and around…. I wrapped up my week running a leg of the Winter Series Marathon Relay.  Around and around the state office campus we ran.  I had the second leg which was only 5.5 miles.  So I only had to go around the outer, inner loop thing once.  Thank goodness.  I swore I wouldn’t run this course again after it beat me up at the Hangover Half marathon.  But here I was again.  However, this time I was triumphant.  It was 40 degrees and sunny outside.  What a great day for a run!

What did you do this weekend?  How is our training going?

This entry was posted in Half Ironman, Relay, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Around and Around We Go!

  1. Pingback: 2012 in {Pictures} & Posts | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

