{injury confirmed}

Well, it’s true, it’s true indeed.  Yesterday I went to the doctors to have my foot checked out due to the pain that I had been experiencing.  I made the appointment last week so between now and then I’ve done nothing but swim.  While the x-rays showed nothing, the doctor is certain that I’m having some sort of a stress reaction.  And he (in all of his infinite doctor wisdom) say that I need to not run for three more weeks in order to let it heal. 

Hmmmmm, three weeks.  I protested slightly and suggested that possibly I try a couple of miles this weekend since the x-ray showed nothing, just to see how it feels.  He agreed that I could do that.  And that I could then make the issue worse and end up being out for an additional six weeks.  He asked if that sounded like a good idea.  I have to admit that as much as I really want to run, the man makes sense.  So, I guess for now, I’ll heed the doctors advice and limit my sweating to all things non-running. 

The problem for me mentally is that a few weeks ago I set some very defined goals.  And I had already started forcing faster runs to begin improving my speed etc.  So, this injury comes at a bad time for me mentally as I was just starting to get faster, blah, blah, blah.  But this morning, I decided that I needed to pull myself up.  And in an attempt to remain positive, I am planning my comeback.  This morning I registered for the Vermont City Marathon relay.  I haven’t decided yet whether this will be my two hour half marathon or not.  It may be, we’ll see how I feel in three weeks.  But I have a feeling that I want to crush it…….

What do you want to crush today?

This entry was posted in Half Ironman, Injuries, Relay. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to {injury confirmed}

  1. Pingback: {The Journey} Bumps and One Foot In Front of the Other | Chasing Down a Dream

  2. Pingback: {Two Things Tuesday} Aquajog and back to the trainer…. | Chasing Down a Dream

  3. Pingback: Finding my {Mojo} | Chasing Down a Dream

  4. Pingback: {Two Things Tuesday} V-Day Edition | Chasing Down a Dream

  5. Pingback: {HIM Training} What am I Doing? | Chasing Down a Dream

  6. Pingback: {Trails} Loving the Run | Chasing Down a Dream

  7. Pingback: 2012 in {Pictures} & Posts | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

