The Funny Thing Is…. Disney is Fun

While I was driving to work this morning, my mind wandered.  Obviously I have Disney on the brain.  Having just completed my 20 mile training run, I’m still thinking about those 20 miles and the additional 6.2 that I’ll have to complete in order to cross that finish line.  So as my mind was wandering I remember bits and pieces of my 20 mile run.  And I just need to relive!

I don’t know about the rest of you, but when I run really long runs like this, I sort of go a little bit crazy.  I mean, it’s a long time to be inside your own head.  Please recall that I’m training for the Disney marathon so during the 20 mile torture run of hills, hills and more hills on Sunday, I started thinking about Disney.  In particular I got Disney songs stuck in my head.  I mean, who doesn’t know all of the words to Beauty and the Beast. 

So picture it….. cresting a hill, here comes sweaty old Sarah belting out tunes from Beauty and the Beast.  “Look there she goes, that girl is strange no question.  Dazed and distracted can’t you tell.”  And it goes on from there.  And on and on.  I even switch voices when I’m singing for other characters.  It’s a real treat.  You should join me some time on a long training run. 

I can only imagine what it will be like during the marathon.  As we pass each of the characters a new song will erupt.  I wonder what kind of awesome looks I will get along the course! Ah, Disney is fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But alas and don’t worry friends. I will not be decked out in some crazy Disney outfit.  That is where I draw the line.  I will indeed get a new outfit, as I frequently do for race day, but it will not involve a tutu, Minnie mouse ears or anything of the like.  And no A-sizzle don’t worry, I will not be sporting your favorite skirt of all time. 

So for the moment, I’m excited about Disney and I really do want to just go and have FUN!  Have you trained for anything lately that just made you want to laugh and be silly?! I have to say, it feels great!

This entry was posted in Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

