{Marathon} I remember this……

Here we go again.  I’m not even in taper yet, and I’m already starting to go a little crazy.  Thus far my longest run has been 18 miles.  20 is on tap for this weekend.  On the way home last night I seriously thought, what am I doing.  There is no way that I’m ready to run a marathon in just over 5 weeks.  I had these very same thoughts right before I ran my last marathon.

I guess there are a couple of differences this time.  The first is that I’m amazed at how early in my training cycle I’m having these thoughts.  It makes me a little nervous for when taper actually does come.  I may go insane.  We’ll see.  I will clearly need to find something to do in order to occupy my time.  Maybe I can take up some crafting that I haven’t done in forever………. yeah, no.  Hell, maybe I’ll actually get back in the pool.  Yowza, now there’s an idea.

The other thing that is very different this time is that I know that I CAN do it.  I was given advice once that I need to trust the training….. “the hay is in the barn.” I’m learning to do that.  I also know that I’ve finished this distance before and I’ve come a long way since crossing the finish line that time.  And regardless of what happens if I put one foot in front of the other I will make it.  And make it I shall.

If we could just slow the freaking out process down……. that would be fantastic! What are you pondering this Thursday morning?

This entry was posted in Marathon, Mental. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {Marathon} I remember this……

  1. Pingback: {Marathon Training} 20 miler | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

