Trying To Find an “Off-Season” Balance

Ok, so I’ve called it the off-season in a couple of different posts.  I’m not sure if training for the Disney marathon really counts as an “off-season.”  I guess I’ve saddled this winter with being known as the off-season because as a triathlete (who me?), I am unable to ride outside and obviously am unable to do any open water swims

I never thought I’d miss that old thing!

So to the gym I go.  But! What I’m currently struggling with is fitting in the cross-training while being mid-marathon training cycle.  I’ll admit openly and honestly that I’m currently running 5 days a week.  Several people have told me that 5 days a week is “too much,” “not necessary,” etc.  But the thing that they don’t understand is that I like to run.  I love seeing my mileage climb.  I’m currently on pace for 35 miles this week which is higher than I’ve done since last fall.  At this rate I’m going to crush November. 

We like lots of miles!

But! I need to find time to cross train.  As we all recall, I’m not the strongest triathlete in both the swim and bike categories.  Not that I’m a super fast runner either, but at least I don’t hate it or feel like I’m going to drown.  So I should be taking advantage of the winter months to increase my ability in the other two sports in triathlon.  One of the biggest reasons why I have a hard time finding the additional hours needed to cross-train is that while in a marathon training cycle I am always TIRED! I can get 8 or 9 hours of sleep each night and it’s just not enough.  I find myself dragging by early evening and am frequently found passed out on the couch at 8:30 PM.  Yes, I know, I am indeed a party animal. 

So what do you do?  Advice people.  One – how do you find the time to incorporate cross training into your running schedule and Two – how do you keep those energy levels up? Especially when it’s so dark and stinking cold? 

This entry was posted in Bike, Cross Training, Marathon, OWS, Running, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying To Find an “Off-Season” Balance

  1. adkmtbtri says:

    Wow, I just wish I had enough time in my schedule for 8-9hrs of sleep…..that is incredible. I am averaging 5.5 to 6 hrs consistantly :0(. So, how to keep yourself motivated when the sun goes down…..latch onto a training buddy that does not mind dragging you out in the am or pm when you are unmotivated or tired.
    Since I do not consider myself a runner (anymore); I have plenty of time to crosstrain but as you say, it is the offseason. I tend to take one day off per week (Varies). Usually run 3 days, Ride/Spin (2-3 days), Swim (2-3 days), Wt Train (1-2 days), Dynamic Stretching and Flexibility daily.
    Although, I do have to admit that I may be able to do this easier because I incoorporate it into my job on lunch hours, ect…Good luck and keep up the good work.

  2. Pingback: One day left…………. | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

