It’s raining, it’s pouring…………..

As an aside this morning, it’s raining.  This screws up all of my training plans.  So instead I’m thinking about all of the food that I have in my refrigerator from the Troy Waterfront Farmer’s Market and my CSA share from Denison Farms.  I am strategically trying to plan how I’m going to use up all of these veggies.

This goes hand in hand with my training as it provides me an opportunity to eat better! As long as I work hard to eat the veggies rather than composting them.  I’ve done pretty good thus far but it is indeed difficult to eat a bushel of veggies each week when it’s just you and a three-year old who is so picky about veggies.

Anyway, this week’s share had green beans, onions, lettuce, watermelon, cantaloupe, tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, eggplant, summer squash, and more! I’ve already canned the tomatoes as I had some from last week as well and I wanted to make sure they didn’t go to waste.  I blanched and froze the green beans.  And no worries, the melons will be gone in a day or two.  I just can’t help myself! Any good ideas for how to use the eggplant and summer squash?  There is a lot!! On that note I leave you to consult my cookbooks yet again.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s raining, it’s pouring…………..

  1. Ann P says:

    We like the summer squash fried, but that doesn’t do much for healthy eating. You can cut them up and put in a frittata. That always works, but gets old after a bit. When all else fails, share your wealth of squash with your co-workers.

  2. Laurie says:

    Yum! I’m terrible sometimes about wasting fresh fruits and veggies – I really should can/freeze more.

Leave a Reply

