{Window Wednesday} My rock steady running partner G

Meet G. Those of you who have been following the blog or know me probably already know her, but its high time to introduce her officially. G is my 6 1/2 year old Golden Retriever named Georgia.

Georgia has been running with me off and on for the last year or so. Now a days we go running at least once if not twice a week. I don’t bring her on group runs because she’s not always perfectly behaved and I don’t want to drive all the running peeps nuts. But she’s been out on a few “small” group adventures. By that I mean if I’m running with one other person. I typically don’t take her more than about 5 miles.

I have to say that she’s a pretty stellar running partner to have. She absolutely never says no to a run. In fact she’s often disappointed because I grab my sneakers and not her leash. This causes barking and a need for reassurances that she can go next time.

G runs right along at my pace. Depending on where we run, I oftentimes try to give her a little off leash time. Now don’t get me wrong, as a runner I’m the first one to get angry when someone has their out of control dog wandering along the bike path off leash. In fact I’ve spoken to people about that behavior recently. However, when G is off leash, she is right by my side. If someone is coming whether it be by bike or on foot and she acts funny at all I quickly clip her back into the leash and continue the run that way. On Monday morning we ran 5 easy miles at the Watervliet Bike Path. On our way back (2.5 miles) I unclipped her and let her run along with me. We did not encounter another person along the way and she never left my side. There’s something a little magical about running alongside one of your most faithful companions. Just a girl and her dog in the morning sunshine. And for runs like that I am thankful. So there’s my shout out to my girl on this window Wednesday. Who’s your rock steady running partner?

This entry was posted in Bike Path, Georgia, Running Peeps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to {Window Wednesday} My rock steady running partner G

  1. G is beautiful and I can relate absolutely to this post!! Love love love this! Always a ready running partner!

  2. Pingback: {Running} in the Dark | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

