Saturday Musings…………

It’s Saturday.  My head is full of thoughts so here you go……………………

Strange wildlife….. I encountered a giant beaver on the bike path yesterday morning.  Well it probably wasn’t giant, I’ve just never encountered one up close before for a size comparison.  I mean, I’ve seen my share of turtles, deer, ducks, geese, birds and the “normal”-ish wildlife along the trail.  But, a beaver?! Weird.

To do….. I’m in the process of overhauling my eating habits.  I work out a lot and I feel like I’m not reaping full benefit of that work when I eat junk.  Since I re-entered the world of single people, I have been eating junk.  Not necessarily junk, but I’m working out more and not taking the time to make quality meals.  You know, for example, two nights this week I had a turkey sandwich and tortilla chips for dinner.  Nutritious food = fail! So, I’ve spent some time this week working on a meal plan for the coming week.  Hopefully I stick to it! I’ll surely share the journey here.

Veggie Burgers ……. From Scratch!

Training plan …. I need a training plan.  Once again, I’m haphazardly just making things up as I go along.  I really think that I need to put together some sort of plan for a couple of reasons.  First, I need to know what the heck I’m doing each day instead of just winging it.  Second, I need a goal and something to be held accountable for.  With a plan I actually have to get things done.  I’m not saying that I’m not getting things done.  I am, I just feel like it’s all very back and forth.  I need a plan.  Any suggestions on where to get something good?

I’m a runner…. What do I do about the runner in me?  I have a feeling that no plan (see above) that I come up with is going to enable me to run 5 days a week.  In order to keep improving on the bike and swim, I have to spend time actually doing them.  I like the biking, jury is still out on the swim.  But in order to spend more time, I have to cut back on the running.  Can I do that? In my heart of runner hearts?

But for now, run on.  Tomorrow’s long run is scheduled for 7 AM and we’re planning on 10 miles.  It will also mark one week until Vermont City Relay that I’m running with A-sizzle.  She is running the first leg and I’m positive that she’s going to kick that race right in the behind.  She’s been doing speedwork and tempo runs every week, so I know for sure that she’s ready.  I on the other hand, feel unprepared as usual.  Maybe some day I will feel ready for one of these races! I’m hoping that tomorrow’s 10 miler will boost my spirits a bit.

What’s on your mind this gorgeous Saturday?

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday Musings…………

  1. Laurie says:

    Well if it boosts your confidence your support had me out doing a 3 mile work out today! When I left it was great with a breeze and a tiny bit of rain, when I got to the second half of the workout it was sunny humid and uphill! But I kept thinking of how you keep saying to me the important part is you are doing it… and I did it! By the way those veggie burgers look much more yummy than mine!

Leave a Reply

