Mom on the Run

So as we lead into mother’s day, I want to share some of the things that I have learned about being a Mom on the run.  These have all been imparted to me by my handsome little man through the course of the last year and a half.

1.  Kids love medals.  Every time I cross the finish line, the medal goes directly to C-man.  Sometimes I manage to get it over my head just in time for him to come running up to say “hey, that’s mine” and take it away.  In fact, he deserves to wear them for letting me have the time to myself to train for the races and then to come and be my number one fan on the sidelines.

Another hard-earned medal.  Our first marathon!

2. Running with a jogging stroller is hard work! Not only are you pushing 40 extra pounds, your arms are not free to swing, and it’s work to keep the stroller heading in the right direction, BUT kiddos are capable of sticking all sorts of things in the stroller wheel.  Man does this slow you down.  On more than one occasion, C-man and I have had to had a talk at mile 4 about keeping your feet off the stroller wheel because it’s too hard for Mommy to push.  Sheeeesh!

3.  As I mentioned before, kids will be your biggest fans.  They are so supportive without even knowing it.  C constantly points out runners and says look Mom, they run like you.  You’re fast.  Or Mom, you did a good job.  They have no idea how much these little quips mean but they can bring you to tears.  No one is coaching them, its pure love and respect for you and what you do.  Incredible support. Period.

A hug and good job at the finish of Stockadathon

4. Lastly, they will be inspired by you.  Sometimes I feel guilty about the time that I spend running without C.  But when he gets excited to go the gym or his eyes light up at the prospect of running a race, I remember that I’m setting a good example for my son.  I’m teaching him to be active.  And to go out there and chase down your dreams and make them your reality!  Hopefully a little bit of what I’m doing will rub off on my kiddo.  He doesn’t have to love to run like me, but I’d be honored if he did.

C’s first 200 yrd dash

What have you learned from being a parent on the run? Have your kiddos taught you life lessons as well?

This entry was posted in About Me, Biggest supporter, C-man, Mother's Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mom on the Run

  1. Erica says:

    Great post…especially the last point – I do this as much for D as I do for myself. I want him to learn early that there is more to life than TV shows and Video games!! Everytime I feel like being lazy D always seems to know and will ask if I’m going running – just the push needed to get up and out 🙂

  2. Pingback: {2011} The Posts a Year in Review | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

