Albany Winterfest Last Run 5K

Who knows if I got the title of the run right.  It’s a long one!  It’s the Winterfest Last Run 5K that is run as part of the Winterfest activities and goes through the Capital Holiday Lights in the Park.  I had wanted to do this run last year, but we were out-of-town.  I may have sneakily rearranged our holiday plans this year (sorry Mom) in order to make sure I was here and could do the run.  It just seemed like such a nice run and a great way to wrap up my year in racing.  And it was indeed!

The race was last night at 5:00 PM.  I think it was about 30 degrees out still when we took off.  To me that seemed like a heat wave in comparison to running in 13 degree temps just the morning before.  There were 1200 runners which was a nice crowd but not too huge.  Everything feels small after doing the Troy Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving with almost 7,000 other runners.  There were a lot of people who I knew and run with doing the race.  It was great to see everyone!

We took off running around 8:30.  After about 1/2 mile at this pace, I knew there was no way I would ever make it to the end if I kept it up.  I slowed up a bit but kept it going at a pretty good clip.  There were more hills than I had anticipated, but they weren’t too bad.  I have to say that I enjoyed the lights.  However, I am positive I would have enjoyed them more if I didn’t feel like I was sprinting!  Ha ha!

As I came down the hill towards the finish line I saw that the clock had just ran over 27 minutes and knew I was on my way into a PR.  Woooo hooo!  I kicked it up and ran it in (carefully and I always get nervous doing down hill.)  Official race time was 27:31.  Over 30 seconds faster than my last 5K PR.  I have to say yet again, that it’s been a fantastic year!  I’m hoping that 2011 is even better!  Happy holidays and I hope you’re having fun in your towns with all of your holiday runs.

This entry was posted in 5k, PR, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Albany Winterfest Last Run 5K

  1. Pingback: Post #100!!! | Chasing Down a Dream

  2. Pingback: One day left…………. | Chasing Down a Dream

  3. Pingback: Last Long Run…. | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

