Race Calendar 2011 Edition

Alright.  So to be truthful, I’ve been working on what the 2011 race calendar holds in store for me since I crossed the finish line of the Mohawk Hudson Marathon in October.  It goes back to that what’s next post I did.  I was immediately thinking to the future and what I was going to do because I was now unstoppable.  Still am if you’re wondering! LOL! However, I can admit that I still don’t have all of 2011 figured out.  However, I do think that I have some key components in place.

For starters I’m planning on starting out my racing year by completing as much of the Hudson Mohawk Road Runners Club Winter Series as possible.  In fact, I’m still seriously considering running the Hangover Half on New Years Day.  The jury is still out.  I haven’t run more than 9 miles since the full marathon on 10/10/10.  I plan to get a few more training runs in and then decide.  I do think that it would be a great way to start the year.  And why not…..

The next big race is the SunTrust National Marathon in Washington DC on 3/26/11.  I plan to only run the half at DC.  There are a couple of reasons for this.  The first and probably the biggest is that I don’t want to train for another full right now.  I want to continue to love running and I REALLY do LOVE it right now.  But if faced with an 18 mile training run in the middle of January in the biting cold, I may change my mind and pack up my shoes.  Probably not, but I’m not going to risk it.  My second reason for doing the half is that I’m really hoping to set a new PR for myself.  I’ve been busting my butt since my last half in Lake Placid and my times have really improved.  I want to take that wave and ride it right to the finish line.  We’ll see what I can really do!

Next up after that is the month of April.  I have a couple of races in mind for April, but haven’t committed to anything yet.  I may do a half and I may not.  Still thinking on it.  And then comes May and the Ragnar Relay from Woodstock to NYC.  I’m really looking forward to running Ragnar.  We’ve compiled our team of 12 runners and are working on a good team name, (any suggestions?) so it should be really fun.  While some people think that we’re nuts for wanting to run a relay race, sleep in a van with 11 smelly other runners, I know that we’re going to have a blast.  And again………… why not?

As of right now I haven’t committed to anything for the months of June – September.  I probably will do a half or two.  I’m nervous to commit due to the crazy hot weather that we often have during these months.  I’m definitely thinking about running the Lake Placid half again in June.  And I think that I’ll surely commit to something in September but I’m just not there yet.  So many decisions!

Then on tap for October is either the Mohawk Hudson Half or the Amica half marathon in Newport, RI.  Again, with decisions, decisions.  At least I have it down to two for that month.  And I’m waiting until April to make any decisions about the month of November.  I entered the lottery for the ING NYC marathon.  It was my birthday and I was feeling crazy so we’ll see what happens with that!

While there are many blank spots still in my schedule, or spots where I need to make decisions, I think that my race calendar is coming together nicely.  It’s enough to keep me going but not enough to make me crazy.  Or at least not crazy in my eyes.  I’m sure other people don’t agree, but I don’t really care what they think do I?!

What’s on your calendar for 2011?  Any good suggestions?

This entry was posted in Half-Marathon, Lottery, Marathon, PR, Race Calendar, Relay, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Race Calendar 2011 Edition

  1. Pingback: “Training” in January | Chasing Down a Dream

  2. Pingback: Race Calendars & Balance | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

