Bucket List, Resolution or Way of Life?

Do you have a bucket list?  In my experience you either do or you don’t.  If you don’t know what a bucket list is, from the Urban Dictionary a bucket list is: a list of things to do before you die.  I tend to not think about the “before you die” part, but instead focus on things that you really want to do.  I can honestly admit that I didn’t have a bucket list until very recently.  And I haven’t actually taken the time to write the things on my bucket list down.  I should probably take the time to do that.

I guess I’m thinking about this so heavily because the holidays are upon us and before long the new year will be here.  Along with the New Year come New Year’s resolutions.  I’m not much for resolutions.  I think they are promises to yourself that tend to get broken pretty easily.  I like the idea of a bucket list much more than resolutions. But both of them seem like big commitments to me and I’m not ready to list them out here for all of the world to see!  Rather I’m working on a “list” of what’s to come in 2011.

My Mom and I were emailing back and forth the other day when she listed out the things she either wants to get back to or start doing in the coming year.  They were simple things like crafting, running, etc.  She also added donate blood. (Apparently she’s too chicken to have done this before.  Ha ha.  Just picking Mom.)  Anyway, the way that she talked about it she listed the things off like things that need to get done, not a resolution for the New Year.  It was very matter of fact.  I’m going to do these things.

It really made me start thinking.  It’s an interesting way to look at things when they aren’t resolutions, they are not bucket list items, they are just things that you are going to do.  Period.  Of course, it got me to thinking.  What are my things?  Here are just a few:

  1. Run.  Just that, just run.  Yes I’m planning to run several half marathons and even a full if I get into NYC through the lottery, but what’s more important to me is that I stick with it.  Doesn’t have to be to achieve a major goal, has to be to keep me centered with myself.  Running is my me time.  I need to keep it front and  center and not forget how key it is to the strong person that I have become.
  2. Spending time with my kiddo.  My son will turn three at the end of January.  I know it’s cliché. I know you’ve heard it a million times, but I cannot figure out where the time has gone already!  I have created a walking, talking human being.  And he’s incredible.  I get to know him better each and every day.  I want to make sure that I spend as much time having fun with him as possible.  Not telling him to behave, sit down, listen up, etc.  Having fun!  That’s what life’s about.
  3. Spending time with the rest of my family.  I lost a super important member of my family this year almost completely out of the blue.  Life is short.  Make sure you tell people how much they mean to you.  You might miss your opportunity.  I plan to spend as much time as I can with those that I love.
  4. Laugh.  I want to laugh.  All the time.  It makes me feel alive and rejuvenated.  Make sure to laugh.
  5. Keep working on me.  I’ve made a ton of changes in my life in the past year.  Hopefully all of those changes have made me a better person.  I think I’m less stressed, happier and easier to be around.  I’m going to keep working on me.  Learning who I am and who I want to be when I grow up!

So those are just a few of the things that come to mine when I think about what I want to do in the coming year.  And they are not bucket list items, they are not really resolutions, they are just what needs to happen.  What’s on tap for you in 2011?

This entry was posted in Bucket List, Family, Kiddo, Resolutions, Running, Things to do and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bucket List, Resolution or Way of Life?

  1. Erica says:

    I LOVE number 4 and 5 on your list! Great post 🙂

  2. Ann P says:

    Great bucket list Sarah! Just be careful about picking on me for being chicken. Be nice to the Mama. Let’s work on our lists together.
    Love you!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

