What’s Next?

So I’m officially more than one week out from the marathon.  I’ll admit that I’m still amazed every day at what we accomplished.  My husband told me the other day that he heard that only less than 1% of the population will ever complete a marathon during the course of their lives.  Huh!  I guess I am kind of special.  I was immediately reminded of one of the quotes that I constantly thought of during those tough long runs in the middle of the August heat.  “If it was easy everyone would be doing it.”  I like that I’ve done something that few other people will ever even attempt to do.  I’m proud of myself and I know that I did great thanks to the help of my training partners.  BUT!……….

I’ve also hit another interesting place in my marathon experience.  Some call it the post-marathon blues, I say I’ve got a case of the so what’s next’s.  I’m ready.  I need a new goal to work toward to so I ask, what’s next.  What are we going to do in 2011?  I don’t need a new distance, just a new race to keep me out there pounding the pavement.  So, I’ve set my running partners to work.  We’re actively planning for 2011.

There will be no full marathons this year, instead we’re focusing on half’s, relays and more.  I feel like we’ve hit our stride.  We’re runners and we are ready for this.  Bring the challenge.  2011 will be the year of great races, PR’s and wonderful experiences!  I’m excited and thus I say…….. “What’s Next?” Cuz we’re ready!

This entry was posted in Half-Marathon, Marathon, PR, Relay, Running, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Next?

  1. Lisa R says:

    Ditto! I feel the same way after 10/10/10!

  2. Pingback: Race Calendar 2011 Edition | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

