To Marathon or Not to Marathon?

Is that the question?  Well no, not really, but I feel like it should be.  As I type this my first full marathon looms in the distance (ha!) just a mere 12 days away.  And to be honest, this makes me want to throw up.  Well just a little bit anyway.  When I feel like this it gets me thinking…….. why in the @*$! did I sign up to run 26.2 miles anyway?

Most people would be happy just getting out there and getting a 30 minute workout under their belt, not running for 5+ hours.  Yes, in full disclosure I am here to break one of your misconceptions.  While we are training for and running a marathon, this does not make us super speedy runners. Everyone thinks that we are.  Nope, not even close.  We anticipate that not phoning it in, we might be able to get this thing done in 5 hours.  We have 5 and 1/2, so we’re cutting it close, but we got this.  As long as we’re still upright when we cross that line, we got it.  And we’re marathoners. Whooooa!

Anyway, today I’m reflecting on just why I signed up for those 26.2 grueling miles of pounding the pavement…………..

I figure, you only live once, so why not?

I want, actually want, to add marathoner to my long list of titles.  It’s cool.

If it were easy, everyone would be doing it and I want to be different from everyone.

Because I want my son to see and know that a person can do anything if they just believe that they can.  Mommies can & do run marathons while working full-time and managing a household.

And lastly, because I deserve it.  Yup, that’s right, I deserve to teach myself once and for all that I deserve it, I’m worth it and I GOT THIS! (Right J?)

So, in these last 12 days as we taper and prepare for race day, to my training/running partners I say, let’s do this and let’s have a great time because you know what, life is too short, so get out there and live it.

This entry was posted in Marathon, Running, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To Marathon or Not to Marathon?

  1. Christina says:

    What a wonderful post Sarah! Rock On! You deserve it and YES YOU CAN!

  2. Aunt Joan says:

    You Rock….

  3. Mom says:

    That’s my girl!! Go get em!!

  4. Pingback: Marathon Training is Coming | Chasing Down a Dream

  5. Pingback: {Marathon} I remember this…… | Chasing Down a Dream

Leave a Reply

